Question about homepage widgets

Support Area Forums Epic Question about homepage widgets

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
URL to the page in question: http://www.newmarketbusiness.com/
  • Author
    Carolyn Komerska
    Participant

Hi there, and Happy New Year!

I installed the Epic theme about a year ago and all has been great – the homepage had a nice slider widget, plus widgets for upcoming events, a link to the company’s PayPal account, etc.

When the newest update for the Epic theme was released (~2 months ago), the update wiped out all the CSS and left the site looking like a shell. I’m fairly new to WordPress, so I suspect I did something wrong, and was told that I should have perhaps created a parent/child theme to avoid what happened.

Either way, I decided to start with restoring the previous files prior to that update, and everything is back up on the site except the home page. The styles are there but the widgets will not display on the home page at all, and I have a feeling (and a hope!) that this is a relatively simple fix? Any input or suggestions you have would be much appreciated!

– ck

Bill Robbins

Hello Carolyn,

Sorry for the trouble there. Most likely the update was actually for a free theme from WordPress.org called Epic. When I released our theme, there were no themes called Epic in the directory and WordPress didn’t handle theme updates.

Since that time, the WordPress core added support for updates for themes that are in the directory. That’s great and all, but it only checks the theme’s name. So it pulled the other Epic’s update and gave it to you.

Since version 2.0 of our theme, we’ve had updates built in. If you’re using 2.0 or higher you can update in the future. If you’re not, then don’t update.

Here’s what to do for your home page. First edit it. Then look in the right hand column for a box labeled attributes. It has a drop down menu labeled templates. Choose the home template there and update your page.