New to WP, please help

Support Area Forums Authentic New to WP, please help

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
URL to the page in question:
  • Author
    David Herndon
    Participant

I need some help. I am very new at using wordpress. I have a site hosted by godaddy.com and I installed WP and the Authentic theme. I went about testing some features but my page continually comes up as the following http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/8969/helppa.jpg

I can’t figure out why it’s so messed up.

Thanks

Bill Robbins

David,

Thank you for your business first of all and welcome to WordPress. Beginners are always a welcome. Let me see if I can help you out.

Taking a look at the image you sent there were a few things that caught my eye.

1) Background: WordPress’ background editor has an unusual way of representing how an image is to repeat itself. What you want to do is set the background image to “tile” so that fills the entire background.

2) Widgets: With a new site, WordPress adds several default widgets which are the ones that you see on the right of your home page. You can change those out by going to the Appearance section of your WordPress dashboard and selecting widgets. The widget available areas of your theme are listed on the right. Your available widgets are on the left. You can add, remove and rearrange widgets by opening up a widget area and then dragging and dropping the individual widgets to where you’d like them to go. The Authentic theme demo uses a text widget for the welcome text you see next to the slideshow.

3) Slideshow: To add slides, go to the media section and select “Slides.” Adding a slide is similar to adding a post. There is actually a quick video you can watch here that will walk you through adding them:

If you have any trouble or other questions, please feel free to ask.

Thanks again,
    Bill Robbins

David Herndon
    Participant