Countdown in header + fixed widget sizes

Support Area Forums Progress Countdown in header + fixed widget sizes

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
URL to the page in question:
  • Author
    Ben Rogers
    Participant

Hi Bill,

Thanks for creating a nice streamlined theme, just a couple of questions:

I’m fairly new to wordpress and css, but can follow the coding easy enough but need a bit of help on these things:

If this falls into the ‘custom coding’ category – just let me know.

1. Is it possible to embed a countdown plugin in the header – after the logo space?

2. Is it possible to drop the gap between header / menu / slide to a more minimal distance? (It looks like padding left for the tag line feature?)
    Eg I’d like the menu section to sit within a few pixels of the top of the slide.

3. Is there a way to fix the size of widgets on the home page or guarantee that two placed together don’t move over to the next column and cause the other widgets to spill below?

(If this one doesn’t make sense let me know and I’ll do my best to explain over email)

4. Is there a way to turn the heading of a text widget into a page link on a specific widget only?
    Eg – I have a ‘current location’ text widget that uses wp-gpx-maps to display a single GPX map but would like that to link to a page showing more map content?

Again thanks for creating the theme so far it’s been awesome and easy to use, look forward to hearing from you.

Bill Robbins

Ben,

Thank you for your business first of all. Let’s see if we can find answers to your questions.

Countdown Widget

It is possible to add in a countdown timer. The tricky part is most of the countdown plugins for WordPress are widget based. To use one of those by your logo you’ll need to create a “sidebar” area in your header. Here’s how to do that:

1. Go to the Appearance section and select Edit.
    2. From the list of files on your right, choose functions.php
    3. Scroll down to the bottom and paste this: